Patricia Babin and her daughter, Sarah. The picture was taken approximately six months before the tragic accident that took her life.



This unique annual award was created to recognize and honor a GAADE member who consistently demonstrates the purpose and ideals of our chapter. The award is named to commemorate Patricia Babin, a founding member of the GAADE chapter. Patricia was a young, dedicated diabetes educator who was killed in a tragic accident shortly after the chapter was formed.

This award will cover the registration fee for the AADE National meeting and reimbursement for roundtrip airfare (coach) to the national meeting.

Please note the criteria outlined below. The deadline for submitting the form is November 1, 2011. Send nominations to Linda Lowey, Atlanta Medical Center, 320 Parkway Drive, NE, Suite 217, Atlanta, GA 30312  Fax 404-265-6412. Phone 404-265-6015. The GAADE Board of Directors encourages all members to take advantage of this special opportunity.

Award Criteria

  1. Evaluation period is from 6/10/10-6/10/11
  2. Elected officers are ineligible to receive award.
  3. A member may receive the award only one time.
  4. The administration of the award is overseen by a committee comprised of the Past President, a previous winner of the Patricia Babin Award, and one member-at-large.
  5. Activity Reports must be submitted to the Chair of this committee, the immediate Past-
    President by the deadline. The committee will meet to review the Activity Reports and
    make a selection to be reported to the Board of Directors.
  6. The recipient of the Award will be announced at a regular membership meeting.
  7. The scholarship award is in the amount of $1,200, which must be used for expenses to the
    2012 AADE Annual Meeting, and a commemorative plaque.

Download application form and printable information >>>